Admin

History

School History

The first schoolhouse in Coal Creek Canyon existed along Twin Spruce Road in 1890. Over the next 20 years enrollment hovered at 10 to 15 students. Two of the prominent families in Coal Creek Canyon, who had children attending the school, were the Bengsons and the Brumms. August Brumm became the secretary of Jefferson County School District No. 27 in 1916.

Coal Creek Canyon's School District No. 27 changed names during this period and was known as the Columbine School District.
Old Columbine
Nearly 90 years passed and one part of the Columbine school house (pictured on the right) was moved from its original location in 2001 to Coal Creek Canyon K-8's Ecology site. The other half of the original schoolhouse is still standing and is now the living room of a private residence.

A second Columbine schoolhouse was built in 1922 along Plainview & Highway 72. In the early 50's the school was closed down and the children were bused to schools in Arvada and Golden until the current school was completed.

Coal Creek Elementary was built in 1962 at 11719 Ranch Elsie Road. In 2003-2004 a new addition was built which showcases the beautiful mountain setting and houses the school's administrative offices and library. Coal Creek Canyon K-8 school is a Jefferson County Public School for the elementary and middle school level.

This information was excerpeted from Coal Creek Canyon, Colorado: Tales from Times Past edited by Vickie Moran 2011.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.